The Commission on Higher Education (CHED) has recently issued CMO 15 s.2019–a concrete response of CHED to the growing demands on scholarly research around the globe since our country lags behind in terms of creation of new knowledge and maximizing the products of research to achieve social and economic development. The CMO basically directs administrators and faculty particularly of graduate programs to build a track record on research and a number of publications in refereed journals.

Hence, Partido State University has partnered with CHED, the Central Bicol State University of Agriculture (CBSUA), Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges (CSPC)  and the Council of Deans for Graduate Education (CODGE) to conduct a regional conference, with the theme “Research Engagement in Higher and Advanced Education in the Bicol Region.” It was held on October 5-7, 2020 via Zoom and live-streamed through Facebook Live and Youtube.

The event aimed to 1) cultivate the culture and mindset for quality research to pave the way toward the accomplishment of CMO 15 s.2019 standards; 2) provide a venue for presentation of actual researches undertaken; 3) ensure the enhancement of research outputs through reviews and critiquing to help authors in the eventual publication of their study; and 4) encourage and inspire participants to engage in their own research based on the gallery of researches presented in the conference.

The opening program started with a message from CHED Regional Director Dr. Freddie Bernal who was represented by CHED Chief Education Supervisor Dr. Maria Teresa de Alban. The welcome remarks were given by PSU President Dr. Raul Bradecina. CHED Education Supervisor  Dr. Pamela Vinas introduced the keynote speaker, CHED Commissioner Dr. Aldin Darilag, who tackled “Cultivating the Culture of Research in Higher and Advanced Education.”


were a total of 53 submissions from 11 different higher educational institutions in Region V, where 41 were accepted and presented. The reviewers were Prof. Ronnel Dioneda, Sr., Dr. Michael Roland Hernandez, Dr. Michael Cuesta, Mr. Francis Xavier Verdadero, Mr. Victor John Loquias, Dr. Villaflor, and Dr. Lagdameo.

Best paper awards were given to the following researchers: Diomerl Edward Baldo, Kier Gasga, Raul Burce, Hanilyn Hidalgo, Arlyn Magana, Maria Joy Iglesia-Idian, Jane Briones, and Romeo Sotto, Jr.

The conference convener was Dr. Bernadette Gumba of PSU Graduate School, assisted by the co-conveners, Dr. Pamela Vinas of CHED ROV, Dr. Adelfa Villaflor of CBSUA, Dr. Maria Teresa Manzano of CSPC, Dr. Federico Jose Lagdameo of Ateneo de Naga University,  Dr. Maria Luisa Gonzales of Bicol College, Dr. Teresia Nacion of Divine Word College Legazpi, Mr. Abe Belleza of University of Sto. Tomas Legazpi, and  Mr. Kennedy Cuya of PSU Information Technology.



Back to Top